2013 – The Year Less is More

I’m not against New Year’s resolutions, and though I can see the attraction of picking a new year to begin something new, I’ve never partook in the resolution declarations. This year though that is changing and I am resolving to get rid of at least one item per day.

Hanging onto items that are only taking up space means weekends cleaning up, rearranging, moving things around as I try to make room. Having five guitars means five guitars taking up space, that need strings, and need playing and while I’d like to think each one serves its own purpose when I’m banging out a few chords a couple times a week for 30-60 minutes at a time it doesn’t really warrant having more than one or two on hand.  I have magazines from 1984 and while these meant a lot to me at one time and they are amusing to look through every couple years or so with the internet and so much information being available online the NEED to keep these just isn’t there anymore. And these are just two examples of the various things I’ve collected, accumulated, thought I desperately needed and purchased but I’m realizing all they’re doing is taking up space and in some cases taking up my time.

So as not to over-do it and in one weekend toss out decade’s worth of  stuff in a rash manner my plan is to start eliminating an item a day. When I go into my music room I look at the table that has become  a catch all area and see old VHS tapes of movies that are online so I grab them and toss them in the trash. When I’m getting something to wear I take an extra couple of seconds and seek out a shirt I know I haven’t worn in a year and grab it for donation. Some items I will post and sell them to make a few bucks here and there but for the most part the plan is to give the items to someone who would appreciate them, donate them, or just plain trash them.

I have taken this approach at work and the cleaner desk has already made me feel better and despite the whole geniuses are slobs thing – the truth is if your work area is a mess it makes people think you don’t have your act together.

I won’t go so far as to call myself a minimalist but what I’m picturing in my head is a very simple, clean house, car, office with the few possessions I have been necessary and excellent. Buy less but buy the best you can afford.  The constant desire to buy something new always fun for only a while and since most of us live moderately the most affordable and easiest items to buy are usually cheap pieces of crap that we don’t really need anyway.


4610103557_61dcaa248f

About Mr Writing III

Freelance/Freerange writer from parts unknown and weight unknown. This blog is Mr Writing III vents his personal beleifs but his passion is writing fiction. His short story "Borgs of Summer" was twice ranked in Amazon's top 100 in Kindle/Baseball category.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

