Sports

File this in the “I must be getting older” category. I’m a guy, I grew up in a sports household, my two brothers played sports and I played sports – and did pretty well if I may say so myself – but I am finding the average male’s obsession with sports…..childish.

I have my sports teams, I have my sports I find enjoyable but if I watched more than one game in a row in a single day I would feel guilty. If you’re watching games on Saturday and Sunday you need to grow up a little and stop living life through someone else. Actually if you’re watching TV more than two hours a day you’re are shortening your life. Add up all those hours that you watched bad movies, bad games, and reruns and you probably have years of precious time that was spent rooting for guys that could really give a rat’s ass about you and your precious team.

Another beef I have with the uber sports fan is they’re almost always fans of teams. The reason is because if you root for a boxer, tennis player, bull-rider,etc then you aren’t part of the larger group. And at the end of the day maybe that’s what this is all about – grown men feeling the need to be part of something big and to be a winner. By donning the jersey of someone, who most likely didn’t even grow up in the time-zone of thier precious team, that guy who doesn’t like his job and life feels like he is an athlete. He is part of THAT team. 

Friendly suggestion to Mr. Uber-Fan, step outside, work on a project, take the kids on a camping trip, go on a fishing trip with some other guys,but get outside everyday and get something done. Life is passing you by.

About Mr Writing III

Freelance/Freerange writer from parts unknown and weight unknown. This blog is Mr Writing III vents his personal beleifs but his passion is writing fiction. His short story "Borgs of Summer" was twice ranked in Amazon's top 100 in Kindle/Baseball category.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

